KELLOGG-HUBBARD LIBRARY

Established 1894 135 Main Street, Montpelier, VT 05602 802-223-3338 www.kellogghubbard.org

Board of Trustees

Bridget Asay, President; Judy Walke, Vice President; Sue Zeller, Vice President; Tim Donovan, Treasurer; Sarah Seidman, Secretary; Sarah Davis; Jeff Dean; Craig Durham; Dan Greene; Donna Lasick; Edisa Gonzalez Revilla Muller; Heidi Parker; Tai Nixa Peterson; Sarah Swift

Executive Committee Meeting Tuesday, Jan. 9, 2024

The meeting was called to order at 12:03 p.m. via Zoom by Bridget Asay (Board President). Present: Sue Zeller (2nd VP), Tim Donovan (Treasurer), Sarah Seidman (Secretary), Dan Groberg (Executive Director). Judy Walke was absent.

The agenda was approved with the inclusion of approval of the November minutes. Zeller moved to approve the minutes of the 11-7-23 meeting, Donovan seconded. Motion carried.

ED Report: Groberg has met with the engineers and hopes to bring a completed request for proposals to the February Board meeting. The first \$75,000 from FEMA will be available once we sign a grant agreement with the state. The rest of the funds come after we get a bid from contractors. Restoring the elevator service is first on the list. Interviews are about to begin for candidates for the Head Adult Library position, with hopes of getting a new employee on board by mid-February. Groberg also noted that \$85,000 was raised in the fall appeal, including many new donors and many who contributed after the flood. This represents about a 10% increase from last year.

The KH has received a \$25,000 donation for poetry-related activities; Groberg said an alliance with the Vermont Humanities Council may bring a nationally-known poet for an event this fall.

Donovan moved and Zeller seconded a motion to recommend approval by the full Board of the revised job descriptions for the ED and Director of Library Services positions. Motion carried.

Seidman moved and Donovan seconded a motion to include Groberg and go into executive session at 12:12 p.m. for an employee evaluation. Motion carried. The EC came out of executive session at 12:15 p.m. Donovan moved and Seidman seconded a motion to direct Asay to give the completed evaluation to Carolyn Picazio.

The EC discussed the annual work matrix for the full Board and will review with all members at the 1-17-24 meeting. All Board members will be assigned to at least one standing committee, as follows:

Nominating Committee—Muller/Durham/Donovan Finance—Lasick/Donovan/Davis/Dean Board Development—Walke/Muller/Parker Fund Development—Peterson/Seidman/Swift/Durham Still TBD—Dan Greene, John Nelson The proposed officers for 2024 are Asay, President, Walke, 1st VP, Dean, 2nd VP, Lasick, Treasurer, Seidman, Secretary. This slate will be voted on at the January 17 meeting. Asay will confirm that Peterson, Durham and Asay are willing to renew their term of service.

The agenda for the full Board meeting Jan. 17 at 5 p.m. via zoom was reviewed and approved. The meeting adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Sarah Seidman, Secretary